How do we assess pupil progress?

At Beckley, we continually assess how well every child is learning. The school uses the ‘Milestones’ assessment programme to do this, which allows us to clearly see exactly where each pupil is working on their journey towards an expected target for the end of each year. Targets are linked to the  national ‘Age-Related Expectation’ (ARE) for each pupil. This measure shows where any pupil is currently working – their level of attainment


Pupil attainment measures the place on the Milestones programme where that child has got to. This is expressed as a points score, and the following scale shows the Age Related Expectation for each year group, by the end of the year:

Early Years: the curriculum for our ‘early years’ or ‘reception’ aged children is different, so they do not use the Milestones system in the same way as other years groups

Year 1: 12 points

Year 2: 15 points

Year 3: 18 points

Year 4: 21 points

Year 5: 24 points

Year 6: 27 points


Of course, all children are different and so there will be variations to their end of year points scores –  some pupils will be working towards this, some will meet it and some may exceed their target. There will be all sort of reasons for this, so a second  measure is used to assess the PROGRESS that the pupils has made. This is a measure of pupil achievement. Our milestones system shows this clearly, by measuring the number of points that a child has moved over a period of time. The expected level of progress is 3 points over a school year. Again, some children will make more, others less.